News Report

Summary of 2011 AGM

The Chairman welcomed the 48 members of the Club who attended the 2011 AGM at The Black Horse Climping. He told the members that the Club continues to thrive and was continuing to look for new waters to add to it’s portfolio. If any members know of or hear of a new water in the future he asked that they contact a member of the committee who would certainly look at the potential for our members.
The Treasurer presented the accounts for the 2010/11 season and these were formally adopted. The Treasurer also presented his proposal that subscriptions should remain unchanged for the 2012/13 season. There was a counter proposal which suggested a small increase for an adult member but a significant increase in the senior citizen fees. After some discussion the meeting took the advice of our Treasurer and ratified the new fees.

The Secretary paid tribute to the work of Tim Nudds as Membership Secretary and Phil Tubb as Treasurer and the Fishery Management team in particular Ray Huskisson who has taken up the task of administration for fishery management.

The Membership Secretary reported another increase in membership but again adult membership has remained fairly constant whilst we see increases in the concessionary categories. He paid tribute to the staff at Arun Angling and the staff at the other local angling shops who have sold memberships for us: Aldwick Angling, Havant Angling, Tropikoi and Tidal Angling.

The Fishery Manager updated the meeting on the Hurston Lane project and was pleased to announce that the first tranche of new fish had recently been introduced to the carp pond with some subsidiary stocking on the other ponds. Further stocking is imminent and the water will re-open shortly afterwards. It was mentioned that we were in the process of bidding for approximately £5000 of EA funding which will be spent on de-silting.

The Match Secretary announced that he would be standing down after 15 or so years doing the job. He recalled some incidents from the previous seasons which involved various anglers taking unscheduled dips, the outgoing Match Secretary mentioned that he was an expert at this!

The following were elected to serve the club:

President: Norman Thomas
Chairman: Nigel Chapman
Vice Chairman: Martin Eyres
Treasurer: Philip Tubb
Secretary: Steve Simmonds
Membership Secretary: Tim Nudds
Fishery Manager: Nelson Keet
Match Secretary: Mick Greenway

Committee Members
Alec Newton, Peter Foster, Ray Newnham, John Swindell, Roger Poole, Mick Harmsworth, Vince Herringshaw, Ray Huskisson and Richard Burbidge

Peter Springate then gave a short talk about the common sense precautions he takes when handling big fish on tidal rivers and asked that all members consider adopting the same practices.

The meeting concluded with a buffet supper and the presentation of the 2010 / 2011 season match trophies.